The Gallipoli Symphony world-premiere DVD now available


Facebook icon
Twitter icon
e-mail icon

Filmed live in Istanbul in August 2015, the DVD presents this remarkable performance, capturing a moment of huge cultural and historical significance, particularly for Turkey and Australia.

The story of the Gallipoli campaign is everlasting. It is a story of endeavour, courage, tragedy, great achievements and great sacrifices.  Millions of words have been written about the campaign, but the story has never been ‘narrated’ musically, until now.

The Gallipoli Symphony is a major composition produced by internationally respected composers from Australia, New Zealand and Turkey. It represents the first time ever that eleven acclaimed composers from three nations that fought in the campaign have collaborated on a single commemorative work of this scale.

Structured into parts, like chapters in a book, each composition is themed around an element of the campaign:

  • Gelibolu – Omar Faruk Tekbilek (Turkey)
  • He Poroporaoki (Farewell) – Gareth Farr and Richard Nunns (New Zealand)
  • The Voyage – Graeme Koehne AO (Australia)
  • Thoughts of Home – Peter Sculthorpe AO OBE (Australia)
  • The Landing – Elena Kats-Chernin (Australia)
  • The Invasion – Kamran Ince (Turkey)
  • God Pity Us Poor Soldiers – Ross Harris (New Zealand)
  • The August Offensive – Andrew Schultz (Australia)
  • The Trenches Are Empty Now – Ross Edwards (Australia)
  • Hope of the Higher Heart – Demir Demirkan (Turkey)
  • Future – Graeme Koehne AO (Australia)

The Gallipoli Symphony is proudly supported by the Australian Government Department of Veterans’ Affairs, Republic of Turkey Ministry of Culture and Tourism, Queensland Government, New Zealand Government Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Qantas Airways Ltd and Queensland Performing Arts Centre.

The Australian premiere is taking place at QPAC in Queensland on Tuesday, 24 November, and tickets are available

The Gallipoli Symphony poster Gallipoli Symphony - Tuesday 24 November 2015

If you’d like a permanent keepsake of the spectacular international performance the DVD is available here: